What Teachers Really Want to Tell Parents

What Teachers Really Want to Tell Parents

A teacher friend of mine posted this article on Facebook.  I really liked how it played out situations that happen too often in parent-teacher conversations.  The best take away advice I got from this article,”We are educated professionals who work with kids every day and often see your child in a different light than you do. If we give you advice, don’t fight it. Take it, and digest it in the same way you would consider advice from a doctor or lawyer.”

Have you had conversations like this regarding your child?  How did you resolve the issues with the teacher?  How did you come to terms about your child’s behavior?  Do you have a partnership with your child’s teacher and school.  Chime in and let me know.

– Katherine

 

3 thoughts on “What Teachers Really Want to Tell Parents

  1. I appreciated this article. Thank you. I am from the other side of the tracks, however. I am a teacher, not yet a parent, in a tough inner city school, and I have to say, although crazy things happen, parents are not my main source of anxiety at my job. I have to think that is for two reasons, one: I am professional about how I approach the parent. I can be honest when I say: I care about your kid. Here are the good points. Then I am honest and calm about the struggles as well. I am solution oriented and I listen to the parent. Yes, I have to dodge the myriad of excuses they conjure, but I can manage that. The second reason I think parents are not a huge source of my problems is that, very unfortunately, more times than not I am dealing with another professional. A case worker, a parole officer, a “program” employee. Twenty five percent of our freshman are in foster homes. Yes, I have concerned parents and some of my students are from great homes, but there are times I can never reach a parent for a kid no matter how hard I try, and they are not calling us either.

  2. Great article! It’s SO true these days. I hear about more and more people looking to leave the profession because of the parents.Thanks for sharing.

  3. Pingback: The Dreaded Parent-Teacher Conference – Dealing with a child with behavioral issues: Our Journey with the Total Transformation #11 | Jennifer M Eaton

Leave a Reply

